Liebster Award Blog-a-thon

Circumstances haven’t permitted me from seeing many films lately, and as such I haven’t been doing any writing, however I have been roped into this game by delightful film geek Sam McCosh of anonlineuniverse.com. The rules are as follows:

  1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
  3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
  4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post.
  5. Go to their page and tell them.
  6. No tag backs.

Unfortunately I don’t really have the network (at least as far as I’m aware) to pass this on to 11 people, but it was fun to answer these questions anyway, so here goes:

11 FACTS ABOUT ME

1. The last film I watched was The Deep.

2. I have several ‘tradition’ films that I watch on certain days of the year. Die Hard on Christmas, Robocop at Easter, Casablanca on my birthday etc.

3. In 2010 and 2011 my most anticipated film at the beginning of the year went on to become my favourite film at the end of the year (Scott Pilgrim vs. the WorldThe Tree of Life). The same unfortunately cannot be said for 2012 (Prometheus).

4. While I have a B.A. in film, really the majority of my cinematic education comes from the eight or nine years I’ve worked in various video stores.

5. My favourite film score of all time is Koyaanisqatsi by Phillip Glass.

6. While I do consider myself passionate about film, if I had to make a choice between film and music, film wouldn’t stand a chance.

7. My favourite book of all time is The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger, and I hope I never see it adapted into a film.

8. I refuse to eat anything in the cinema, and I wish others would do the same.

9. The first film I remember seeing in the cinema is An American Tail. I revisited it a couple of years ago and, alas, it doesn’t hold up too well.

10. While I enjoy cinema from all eras and locations, the classical Hollywood period is without a doubt my favourite.

11. I think that Zack Snyder’s Sucker Punch is the worst film I’ve ever seen.

11 QUESTIONS FROM SAM

  1. Who would play you in the movie of your life?

Hmm, you appear to have started me off with a question I cannot answer. Sorry.

  1. What is your worst cinema-going experience?

I’ve been fortunate enough not to have too many bad experiences in the cinema. When I lived in Asia I pretty much stopped going to the cinema however as Vietnam has terribly strict censorship laws and many films would be cut to pieces, so I guess that kind of fits in with this question.

  1. Do you own a blu-ray player? If so, is it better?If not, why not?

I own a PlayStation 3, which functions chiefly as a blu-ray player/media hub as I don’t really play games any more. Sure it’s better, but I’m not sure it’s an essential thing for most people. I still watch many films on regular DVD and they’re fine.

  1. If you could attend any film festival in the world, which would it be?

This is a tough one. If it were for the glamour of the event and high standard of films, I guess it would have to be Cannes. If it was for the pure enjoyment and company, I think Butt-numb-a-thon sounds like a pretty good time.

  1. Which three people in the film industry (living or dead)would you have dinner with if you could?

Oliver Reed, Elizabeth Taylor, Stanley Kubrick.

  1. Which book would you like to see adapted?

I’m still holding out hope for Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, although I’m not sure Ron Howard and Akiva Goldsman are the ideal choices to do it. We’ll see if that one ever pans out though.

  1. 3D – A fad or something that could be/is exciting?

I think it certainly could be exciting, but at this stage, to me, it simply isn’t. It’s an unnecessary barrier between myself and the film, and I generally choose to watch 2D when I can.

  1. Who or what inspired you to write about film?

I’m not sure that any one person or thing did. A friend used to suggest it from time to time before I started doing it, but that’s all that I can think of. I think what started was I liked the idea of having an analytical outlet so I wouldn’t spend so much time inside my own dumb head.

  1. What is your most anticipated film for the 2nd half of 2012?

Is Terence Malick’s To The Wonder still scheduled for 2012? Anything he does instantly becomes my most anticipated.

  1. Which actor/actress automatically turns you off seeing a film?

I don’t really think there are any that do. There are certainly a few that I have yet to see in a good performance, but I’m willing to give pretty much anyone another chance to impress me.

  1. What is the most over-rated classic film?

Is it wrong that I’m not crazy about Sunset Boulevard?

 

So that’s that. It was fun to think about this stuff, so thanks to Sam for getting me involved. If nothing else, it’s made me think I need to get more involved with other bloggers so I might also have some people to pass the buck to!

Leave a Reply

